Krista Leavitt ~ Curl Specialist

Kingston, ON

Exclusively catering to curly girls of all ages: I specialize in coaching you how to work with your wavy and curly hair. Each appointment is personalized with custom dry curl-by-curl cutting, product application, and drying techniques focused on your curl type. All new clients take away my Customized Curly Hair Guide to help you remember what you learned during your appointment. My training is Deva Inspired and Advanced Curly Hair Artistry Techniques. Request an appointment at www.loveyourcurls.ca. I can't wait to help you love your curls!**Relocating to Kingston, Ontario. Reopening in Fall 2016!**

Reviews

Overall:

(5.0 / 21 Reviews)
Write a Review

Amazing wavy hair artist!

Rating
by Christine Mills on February 09, 2017

I had been following the curly girl method for a while, but it wasn't until I saw Krista, and she showed me the right products for my hair type, how to apply them, and how to properly dry my hair, that my waves truly came to life. I can't wait to have a haircut with her as I know my waves will be even better then!

A wonderful treat

Rating
by Laurie Finn on January 25, 2017

Meeting with Krista was a great experience with wonderful takeaways. I would encourage all curly girls to take the time to learn to love your locks. With Krista's expertise and tips I learned to love a more natural look and that having curly hair is a wonderful treat.

You are just so AMAZING!

Rating
by Anyi on June 21, 2016

You made me love natural hair. Thanks for always supporting me and answering questions. I know from experience how hard it can be to take care, manage, and love my 4c kinky hair and after so many years of chemical straightening, I am rocking it naturally THANKS TO YOU! You are just amazing and you rock!

You are just so AMAZING!

Rating
by Anyi on June 21, 2016

You made me love natural hair. Thanks for always supporting me and answering questions. I know from experience how hard it can be to take care, manage, and love my 4c kinky hair and after so many years of chemical straightening, I am rocking it naturally THANKS TO YOU! You are just amazing and you rock!

A Master of Her Craft

Rating
by Emilie on June 06, 2016

My visit to Krista exceeded my highest expectations, and then some. Let's start with that she is a warm, welcoming person. For me this is so important as a curly girl living in a straight world - a visit to the salon can leave you feeling badly because your curly hair doesn't fit in. With Krista, I felt accepted.I was excited to learn from Krista, and let me tell you, I learned more than I could have dreamed. She takes her time, focusing on teaching you what your hair needs and wants. From handing me a giant mirror so I could watch her "squish to condish," to her detailed instructions on how to handle my hair to literally helping me to style my own hair, I received an all-out education on my curls. And yes, you read correctly, once showing me what to do, Krista had me style my own hair and gave me tips along the way. What better way to learn than to do it yourself with a curl genius making sure you understand?As overwhelmed as I was with all of the outstanding education, nothing could have prepared me for the cut. I didn't plan on getting a cut because I was very attached to my length. I decided to go for it and am I so glad I did. I struggled with the shape of my hair every single day before Krista. It was bulky in spots and flat on the top. No more! We looked at pictures, discussed the cut and Krista worker her magic. The most unbelievable part is that even when I style my hair myself, the shape is still amazing, thanks to my beautiful cut. I cannot wait to see where it grows :) Krista is a true master of her craft. Thank you Krista!

Curly hair

Rating
by Cheryl on June 03, 2016

Krista Leavitt makes curly hair miracles come true. Even after years and years of abuse, frizz, mistreatment etc. Money well spent. She actually teaches you hands on how to work the curls that you thought you had lost. Thank you Krista you are amazing. Keep up the great work. We need a lot more of you!

Merlin the magician o curls

Rating
by Kathryn on June 02, 2016

I first visited Krista in October 2015 after locating her on your find a stylist site. I travelled 3 hours from my hometown to have my hair cut. She cut my extremely curly, fine and damaged (by another stylist) hair. I will be forever grateful for her skill and up to date knowledge of how to care for my curls. Krista goes the extra mile when it comes to customer satisfaction and her service does not end with the cut. She provides many tips, tricks, at home recipes for caring for delicate curls. After a lifetime of stylists that recommended straighteners and various tools she is a refreshing breath of fresh air. I cannot thank you enough Krista and best of luck in Kingston. I will continue to travel to see Krista once she has relocated.

Prepare to be educated

Rating
by Jacqueline on October 29, 2015

Krista knows curls. She takes her time to show the proper way to work with your curls. I've learned so much from Krista.

Two thumbs up!

Rating
by Debra Mazzitelli on October 29, 2015

I went to see Krista because my cousin, a life long curly girl had been traveling across Ontario to have Krista tend to her tresses. I had been a straight hair girl my whole life, but after having 3 children and the help of menopausal hormones, I was getting more waves and curls. Being a natural kind of girl and my grey's where coming in curly. I thought maybe I shouldn't fight it. With my cousins recommendation that the right cut, products and valuable instruction, I too could have curly locks. So I booked my appointment and waited with excitement. Krista was so great, from the initial consult to the custom cut and hands on styling, she taught me about my hair type and how best to use the products to achieve the desired style I wanted. I have had my second cut from Krista and with the use of her suggestions and styling tips my hair is curlier and healthier than I could have ever imagined. She is a wealth of information and she generously shares it, to enrich her curly girls. If you have curly hair and want to know how to have the best curly hair ever, Krista is the girl to see, her custom one on one appointments will change not only your hair but your life!

Passionate and talented curly hair specialist

Rating
by Leslie on October 29, 2015

Krista is a miracle worker with wavy and curly hair! She is so caring and thorough, taking the time to teach you all the steps and answer all your questions. She is right up to date with all the latest training and keeps her clients well informed on hints and tricks, as well as new products, through her active use of social media.

Game Changer!

Rating
by Keri B on October 29, 2015

Krista knows curls and waves like nobody else! She helps you understand your hair and come to peace with it :). Everytime I have a visit with her I think I know what I'm doing, but I always learn a new technique. She has helped me love my curls. No more struggling against my hair. Can't say enough great things about Krista and her services! Such a wonderful person too!

Krista is amazing!! I now love my curls. <3

Rating
by Michelle on July 23, 2015

I was first introduced to Krista through a contact I met in a networking group. She came to visit Krista and wrote a blog post about her....I was totally intrigued. I thought, I need to see her!!! I have tried to work with my curls but mostly, I was a pony tail girl. I always, always, always had my hair pulled back. So, I booked was able to see Krista back in April 2015. I was totally wowed!! I learned so much and took what I learned and ran with it. But, I was so stuck on sticking to my 'routine' that I wasn't doing all of the things she taught me! I thought that I was doing 'ok' with my curls, but still wasn't completely happy.I was getting frustrated and kept thinking, why am I doing this? Am I doing ok? I decided to go back and see her again. I decided to go a little shorter...and I am so happy I did! And that I listened to my gut! We went over my routine during my appt and we discovered that I was doing a few things 'wrong!' Ah! I was not scrubbing in and out the cleanser so I had a lot of build up at my roots. And I wasn't rinsing out my conditioner so my curls were kind of being pulled down and just looked like they had leftover product in them! I am sure there was more....but now I can't remember. I just wanted to say....listen to your gut!! And, you don't always have to stick to your routine...change it up with the options Krista gives you. And, don't be afraid to ask questions. I thought if I asked, it might be perceived that I didn't keep it all in and that I really didn't learn too much but it isn't like that at all! Krista has a genuine gift that she wants to share with us!!!! Pick her brain and ask away!! I feel SOOOOO blessed to have her in my life. There is SO much info to take in at the first appointment that I so appreciated the refresher. Ok, that's enough. I am happy to say that this is the beginning of my lifelong curl journey. I recommend Krista to anyone who will listen to me...and if you compliment my curls, I will ALWAYS drop her name. Love it!!

A lovely experience and kind person!

Rating
by Amber A. on May 27, 2015

One of the most genuinely nice people I have ever met. Krista was amazing- she really took the time to educate me about my hair and how to care for it, and gave me the best haircut I have ever had (no lie! This is the best haircut I have ever had! I love it!!)! Instead of the usual three hour appointment, it took about five hours to sort out my hair- Krista wanted it to be perfect! I've never seen such dedication and passion in a stylist before, and she has such pride in her work. I'll definitely gladly travel the 6 hours to Barrie to get my hair cut by her again! I'm so excited to properly take care of my newly discovered curly hair :) Thank you again Krista!! Xx

Krista provides a fun and informative experience.

Rating
by Lorelie on March 10, 2015

After having my hair cut at the Devachan Salon on Broadway, I wanted to find a stylist who would continue the Devacurl philosophy with my hair. I found Krista through the Deva website and contacted her for my next appt. I appreciated her private home salon which allowed for total concentration on the needs of my hair. I felt at ease discussing the pros and mainly cons of my frizzy fine hair. Krista was able to provide me with the haircut I wanted at the same time educating me on styling techniques and which products to use for my desired look. My first experience with Krista was so much fun - almost like being a kid in a candy store, only in this case, so many Deva products to pick and choose from. It's impossible to find the Deva products here in Ontario unless you travel into Toronto or order direct from the Deva website but Krista was able to fill my recent product order. She continually keeps her clients informed through social media; whether it's educating us on the harmful chemicals found in most shampoos/conditioners, posting before and after pics of her latest amazing transformations, or giving advice on how to unscrew those impossible 32 ounce containers of Deva's One Condition. I loved my first haircut with Krista and hope to have many more.

Krista provides a fun and informative experience.

Rating
by Lorelie on March 10, 2015

After having my hair cut at the Devachan Salon on Broadway, I wanted to find a stylist who would continue the Devacurl philosophy with my hair. I found Krista through the Deva website and contacted her for my next appt. I appreciated her private home salon which allowed for total concentration on the needs of my hair. I felt at ease discussing the pros and mainly cons of my frizzy fine hair. Krista was able to provide me with the haircut I wanted at the same time educating me on styling techniques and which products to use for my desired look. My first experience with Krista was so much fun - almost like being a kid in a candy store, only in this case, so many Deva products to pick and choose from. It's impossible to find the Deva products here in Ontario unless you travel into Toronto or order direct from the Deva website but Krista was able to fill my recent product order. She continually keeps her clients informed through social media; whether it's educating us on the harmful chemicals found in most shampoos/conditioners, posting before and after pics of her latest amazing transformations, or giving advice on how to unscrew those impossible 32 ounce containers of Deva's One Condition. I loved my first haircut with Krista and hope to have many more.

HAPPY Curly Girl!!

Rating
by Samantha on February 19, 2015

I was so tired of the triangle of frizz, hair stylists that BRUSH my hair, comment on the girls then proceed to straighten it. Yes a completely different look than what I walked in with and something I would NEVER re-produce at home. What a delightful awakening to learn about my curls, have a cut that is specific to my curls and know how and when to apply product followed by the best method to style. How AMAZING to be able to create this stunning head of curls at home, with no frizz! Being a curly girl isn't a battle when you have knowledge and KRISTA is passionate about sharing the know-how and the love!! Comfortable and relaxing salon, caring and compassionate professional who genuinely cares - I highly recommend Krista and her passion for curls so you will love your own!!!

Excellent curly hairstylist

Rating
by Nikki on February 18, 2015

Krista is amazing at analyzing, cutting and styling curly hair. She constantly gives advice on different hair products for all curly hair textures. Highly recommend.

I never thought I could have such gorgeous curls!

Rating
by Julie on February 18, 2015

I've known Krista for 15 years. Long before either of us had leaned to love our curls. Time and life has caused our paths to cross and separate several times over the years. Several years ago Krista encouraged me to embrace my roots... My curly roots that is. I didn't have any strong feelings of dislike towards my curls I had just never found a stylist who knew how to cut/style my thick curly hair. I always left the salon and went straight home to wash and re-style my hair. I figured if I was paying good money for a style I might as well get one that I could feel looked respectable so I started letting my stylists straighten my hair. About 5 years ago I had the unfortunate experience of receiving a bad chemical cut. My curls were wrecked! I bought a straightener and for the past 5 years I have been wearing my hair straight. Until January of this year. Krista was so committed to sharing her wealth of knowledge and expertise that she spent 10 days out of her Christmas holiday traveling to destinations far from her home and young family (I'm talking long drives, flights, airport delays, the whole nine yards) to help a new group of women embrace their curls! I took the plunge and am glad I did. I'm still learning what works best for me and my curls, but for the first time when I left Krista's chair I didn't rush home to restyle my hair. I had gorgeous, soft, defined, frizz-free curls!!! In fact, I didn't want to way my hair because I was worried is never get it to look the same again! Krista goes above and beyond to help curly-haired women learn to love and embrace their curls. From her at home hair care guide to help you recreate your style, to arranging with local salons to carry Deva products so that we have easy access to the products we need, to her clients-only Facebook group where we can post pictures, hair care routines, and trouble shoot any curly hair issues we may be having. Krista is dedicated to her craft in a way that I have never encountered before with any other stylist, and her knowledge, expertise and dedication shows... On the amazing heads of curly haired clients who are lucky enough to count her as our stylist!

Totally Amazing!

Rating
by Kelly on February 17, 2015

Krista is a god-send. Her professionalism is amazing. I have been getting the wrong haircuts and wrong advice for thirty years! Since I've seen Krista and learned the curly girl techniques (that she so meticulously explains, demonstrates, and believes in!) I have received so many compliments on my hair! People keep asking how I get my curls to look so good! I highly recommend this service to every curly girl I know and meet. Seriously, Krista is awesome. Her boutique is so nice, her personality is warm and friendly, and she oozes a passion for what she does. It was a five star experience!

The best curly hair artist

Rating
by Lynne on February 17, 2015

Krista is the best curly hair artist. For the first time in my life I was able to walk away from my hair appointment with perfect looking curls. Her cutting style and product application made a huge difference. She also showed me how to maintain and improve my curly style on my own. I wish I had gone to someone like her when I was younger. All of those years of bad haircuts could have been avoided. Thanks Krista. You are a curly hair miracle worker!

She amazed me!

Rating
by jax on February 17, 2015

I am a life long curly hair girl who has spent years developing ways to make my curls as nice and beautiful as I could. BUT- no way was I ever cutting my long locks short for fear of a repeat nightmare in my late teens! I recently decided in my 30's I'd try to have it cut short above my shoulders one more time. I went to Krista- and after 3.5 hours of sculpting and working "together" on my new short locks... the outcome was amazing and I will never have my hair cut by another stylist ever again.


Write a Review

You’re reviewing: Krista Leavitt ~ Curl Specialist

Required Fields

Loading Olapic...